McKevitt’s Annual Women of Distinction Event Honors 13 Outstanding Local Women

Women of DistinctionAssemblyman Tom McKevitt (R,C,I-East Meadow) honored 13 outstanding local women for their civic, professional and personal contributions to the community recently at his annual Women of Distinction event held at the Farmingdale Public Library. The honorees were all nominated by the community for this distinction.


McKevitt was joined by Assemblyman Mike Montesano as well as Nassau County Legislator Rose Marie Walker and Nassau County Legislature Presiding Officer Norma Gonsalves at the ceremony. This year’s guest reader was 2008 Women of Distinction Honoree Betty Tucker and the ceremony included a performance by the Seaford Middle School Woodwind and String Ensemble and presentation of the colors by Massapequa American Legion Post 1066.


The 2017 Women of Distinction Honorees include: Dancer Sharon Dunphy Bartlett of Farmingdale; banker Antoinette Casiano of Hicksville; Christina D’Amico of North Massapequa, Director of Christian Education at St. Luke’s Lutheran Church in Farmingdale; Theresa Egan of East Meadow, Associate Director for an international real estate company and survivor of both 9/11 and cancer; public servant and community volunteer Elizabeth Fries of East Meadow; PTA leader Donna Goldstein of East Meadow; nurse and breast cancer advocate Diane Groth of East Meadow; Lorraine LaCalandra of Massapequa, a board member for United Cerebral Palsy for more than 40 years; Kathleen Lively of Farmingdale, an active community member with over 25 years of volunteer service to a number of local organizations; banker and domestic violence and child abuse prevention advocate Susan A. Ring of Massapequa; advocate for persons with developmental disabilities Sue Spielvogel Roessner of Massapequa; performing triple threat and former Miss Congeniality for New York Senior America Patricia Tropea of Levittown; and poet Judith (JR) Turek of East Meadow.


Visit Assemblyman McKevitt’s webpage