Tag Archives: lower taxes

Learn How to Reduce Your Taxes through Exemptions, Challenging Assessments

Clavin Announces Fall Lineup of Taxpayer Forums

 

Hempstead Town Receiver of Taxes Don Clavin has announced a series of 24 taxpayer forums at various locations across the Town of Hempstead that will kick off on September 6th in Valley Stream. Clavin’s informative seminars include important information for property owners on how to reduce property taxes through exemption programs and by challenging their assessments.

 

“As Long Island families and senior citizens struggle to pay some of the highest property taxes in the nation, we’re here to make them aware of ways they can reduce their taxes,” Clavin said. “For many homeowners, every dollar counts and a significant amount of it can be saved by pursuing these important property tax reduction opportunities.”

 

Clavin’s presentations will feature details on many tax savings programs available through the state of New York and Nassau County, including Basic and Enhanced STAR and an array of exemptions (Senior Citizen, Veterans, Disability/Limited Income, Home Improvement, Volunteer Firefighters & Ambulance Corps and more).

 

The Receiver will also discuss important taxpayer updates, including: Clavin’s recent legislation, sponsored by Councilwoman Erin King Sweeney and Councilman Dennis Dunne, Sr., and approved by the Hempstead Town Board in May, that made the Cold War Veterans Exemption permanent. What’s more, Clavin partnered Senator Elaine Phillips to urge state Legislators to support legislation that would provide property tax equity for golden age homeowners who could be eligible for the Senior Citizens’ Exemption to boost the income eligibility limits for the Senior Citizen Tax Exemption to levels recently approved for New York City residents.

 

Clavin’s taxpayer forums, free and open to the public, begin on Thursday, September 6th at 7 PM at Valley Stream Village Hall (123 S. Central Avenue in Valley Stream). The schedule is as follows:

 

  • Thursday, September 6, 7 PM, Valley Stream Village Hall, 123 S. Central Ave., Valley Stream
  • Wednesday, September 12, 7 PM, Lynbrook Library, 56 Eldert St., Lynbrook
  • Tuesday, September 25, 7 PM, Island Park Library, 176 Long Beach Rd., Island Park
  • Thursday, September 27, 6:30 PM, East Rockaway Library, 477 Atlantic Ave., East Rockaway
  • Monday, October 1, 2 PM & 7 PM, Oceanside Library, 30 Davison Ave., Oceanside
  • Thursday, October 4, Elmont Library, 7 PM, 700 Hempstead Tpke., Elmont
  • Tuesday, October 9, 7 PM, Uniondale Library, 400 Uniondale Ave., Uniondale
  • Wednesday, October 10, 2 & 7 PM, West Hempstead Library, 500 Hempstead Ave., West Hempstead
  • Thursday, October 18, 2 PM, Baldwin Library, 2385 Grand Ave., Baldwin
  • Monday, October 22, 2 PM & 7 PM, Levittown Library, 1 Blue Grass Ln., Levittown
  • Wednesday, October 24, 7 PM, Franklin Square Library, 19 Lincoln Rd., Franklin Square
  • Tuesday, October 30, 2 PM, Freeport Memorial Library, 144 W. Merrick Rd., Freeport
  • Thursday, November 1, 2 PM, Elmont Library, 700 Hempstead Tpke., Elmont
  • Thursday, November 8, 7 PM, Hewlett-Woodmere Library, 1125 Broadway, Hewlett
  • Tuesday, November 13, 2 PM, North Merrick Library, 1691 Meadowbrook Rd., N. Merrick
  • Thursday, November 15, 7 PM, Seaford Library, 2234 Jackson Ave., Seaford
  • Monday, November 19, 7 PM, Garden City Library, 60 7th Street, Garden City
  • Monday, November 26, 7 PM, Floral Park Library, 17 Caroline Ave, Floral Park
  • Wednesday, November 28, 2 PM, Bellmore Library, 2288 Bedford Ave., Bellmore
  • Thursday, November 29, 7 PM, Freeport Memorial Library, 144 W. Merrick Rd., Freeport
  • Tuesday, December 11, 7 PM, Bellmore Library, 2288 Bedford Ave., Bellmore

 

“I look forward to this Fall, not only for the change in season and the pleasant weather, but also to help taxpayers save money,” Clavin said. “I invite neighbors from across the Town of Hempstead to attend one of my free taxpayer forums to see how they can reduce their property tax burdens.”

 

Visit Receiver Clavin’s webpage